Alan S. Hilibrand, MD, MBA, named treasurer-elect of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons’ Board of Directors

March 9th, 2018

NEW ORLEANS, La. (March 9, 2018)–Philadelphia-area orthopaedic surgeon Alan S. Hilibrand, MD, MBA, was named treasurer-elect of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) Board of Directors at the organization’s 2018 Annual Meeting. He will assume the position of treasurer in 2019 for a three-year long commitment. 

The treasurer serves as chair and one of three voting members of the AAOS Finance Committee. The committee manages the finances and fiscal health of the Academy, which has more than 38,000 members.

Dr. Hilibrand is an orthopaedic surgeon specializing in spine surgery. He is the Vice Chairman of Academic Affairs and Faculty Development for the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, the Joseph and Marie Field Professor of Spinal Surgery, and Professor of Neurological Surgery at the Rothman Orthopaedic Institute and the Sidney Kimmel Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University, both in Philadelphia. Additionally, Dr. Hilibrand is the Co-Director of Spinal Surgery and Director of the Spine Fellowship at the Rothman Orthopaedic Institute. 

Dr. Hilibrand earned a bachelor’s degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge, Mass. and his medical degree from Yale University School of Medicine in New Haven, Conn.  He completed an orthopaedic surgery residency at The University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, Mich., and a spine and spinal cord injury fellowship with Dr. Henry Bohlman at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio.  He recently earned his MBA from Temple University’s Fox School of Business.
Dr. Hilibrand has served in numerous leadership roles over his dozen years volunteering with AAOS. For the past four years, he served as Chair of the Communications Cabinet and as an AAOS Board of Specialty Societies Presidential Line representative for the Cervical Spine Research Society. Dr. Hilibrand was selected to participate in the Academy’s Leadership Fellows Program (Class of ’05). He also has served as a Deputy Editor for The Journal of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (2009-2014), and as a member of the CME Courses Committee (2011- 2014).

In addition to serving in these roles, Dr. Hilibrand was selected as an AOA-ABC Traveling Fellow in 2007, and served on the AOA Board of Directors from 2008-2014.  He also served as the President of the Cervical Spine Research Society in 2014-2015, and served on the Board of Directors of the North American Spine Society as the Chair of Continuing Medical Education and as the Chair of its Advocacy Council.

The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons
With more than 38,000 members, the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) is the world’s largest medical association of musculoskeletal specialists. The AAOSprovides education programs for orthopaedic surgeons and allied health professionals, champions and advances the highest quality musculoskeletal care for patients, and is the authoritative source of information on bone and joint conditions, treatments and related issues. 

Visit AAOS at: for bone and joint health news, stats, facts, images and interview requests. for inspirational patient stories, and orthopaedic surgeon tips on maintaining bone and joint health, avoiding injuries, treating musculoskeletal conditions and navigating recovery. for patient information on hundreds of orthopaedic diseases and conditions.


For more information, contact:

Kayee Ip                                          847-384-4035                  312-543-3211             

Lauren P. Riley                               847-384-4031                  708-227-1773        


Related Physicians

Filter Physicians



Please select your region to view available physicians.

Select Your Region
1 of 1
You are using an unsupported version of Internet Explorer. To ensure security, performance, and full functionality, please upgrade to an up-to-date browser.